Sui Dynasty Emperors

The Sui Dynasty is most notable for bringing China together under a single rule. However, it only lasted from 581 to 618 A.D. and was replaced by the Tang Empire. The Sui Dynasty was only led by two emperors, and these were Emperor Wen and his son, Emperor Yang.

A Brief History of the Sui Dynasty

The division of China happened after the great Han Dynasty fell in 220 A.D. Several regions wanted to gain control over the land, hence, the constant wars.

In the early 500s, the country was ruled by two primary kingdoms known as the Northern and Southern Empires. As time passed, an individual named Yang Jian took the Northern Empire in 581. He established the Sui Dynasty then became the ruler, Emperor Wen.

After taking control over Northern China, the Sui emperor brought together a grand army before invading Southern China. After eight years, Emperor Wen took over the area and was able to bring China under the Sui Dynasty’s rule.

The empire didn’t last long and began to decline under Emperor Yang’s rule. He was considered a tyrant and forced peasants to work on extremely huge projects. These included the Grand Canal and the restoration of the Great Wall.

Millions of peasants died under Emperor Yang’s rule, so they rebelled and went against him in 618. From there, the Sui Dynasty was overthrown and replaced by the Tang Dynasty.

The Zhaozhou Bridge of the Sui Empire

The Zhaozhou Bridge located across the Jiao River was created during the Sui Dynasty. Today, it’s called the Anji Bridge and is considered the oldest surviving stone bridge in the world.

The bridge was built from 595 to 605, and its design was credited to a craftsman named Li Chun. It’s situated in the southern section of the Hebei Province and is claimed as one of the Four Treasures of Hebei.

Emperor Wen of Sui

581–604 A.D

Image Source: Public Domain

Yang Jian, also known as Emperor Wendi (or Wen of Sui), founded the Sui Dynasty. After staging a coup against the Northern Zhou’s royal family, he seized control of the throne. Emperor Wendi of the Sui Dynasty then eventually established his dynasty.

Read More

Emperor Yang of Sui

604–618 A.D

Image Source: Public Domain

Emperor Yang of the Sui Dynasty ruled for 14 years until his death by assassination. Many controversies were associated with him when he assumed the throne. Yang Guang, also known as Emperor Yang (other aliases: Ying, Amo, Emperor Ming), was the second Chinese emperor of the Sui Dynasty.

Read More

Emperor Gong of Sui

617–618 A.D

Emperor Gong of the Sui Dynasty ruled for about six months until he abdicated the throne. Yang You, commonly known as Emperor Gong (other aliases: Prince of Dai, Prince of Tang, and Gongdi), is the third Chinese emperor of the Sui Dynasty.

Read More

Yang Tong

618–619 A.D

Yang Tong of the Sui Dynasty is traditionally known for his princely title of Prince of Yue (other aliases: Lord Huangtai or Gongdi). The fourth Sui Dynasty emperor, he was made an emperor by the Sui officials in the capital Luoyang. He was left in charge by his grandfather, Emperor Yang.

Read More